A recent interview and reviews about “PrinceFall”

If you’ve been following my blog, you have probably noticed that my debut fictional novel, “PrinceFall”, has been placed on Smashwords and will soon be on Amazon as well.  I opted for both locations so that readers would have as many options available to them as possible for locations they can download the book on its official release date of July 15, 2015.  You can find the book listed on Goodreads now as well.

I recently held a giveaway for ten free full copies of the book – a pre-release party for those who had signed up for my official newsletter.  I was surprised when I was contacted by two of the winners who have already read the book (they won) as well as an up-and-coming indie author, Brian King, who had asked to do a BETA read of ” PrinceFall”.  It’s great to hear from readers (always), and wanted to share their reviews and a bit of the interview I did with Brian.  I will post the full interview soon.

Your book, PrinceFall, was a fantastic read!  I knew it was set in a fantasy world, but was amazed at how events in it resemble some of our real-world struggles.  Kudos for finding a way to combine the visual elements of a Tolkien-esque world with a story that could be relevant in today’s society.  I can’t wait to read Maelstrom! 5 stars! – Josh Barton

To Josh,

I am ecstatic that you would even mention my book next to anything by J.R.R. Tolkien.  Tolkien and C.S. Lewis are two of my absolute favorite authors.  If you research the two men, you’ll find that not only were they contemporaries but good friends and that they entwined real-life struggles and trials of their day into their fantasy worlds as well.  One inspirational thing about both men that influenced me (in writing the PrinceFall series) is that they saw the struggle between light and dark as a very real, human experience.  I appreciate your review greatly.

I did not anticipate that after a very detailed back story in the form of “writings” or records, the son – Jett – would discover such an intimate look at his father (Teyan) or that his own son (Orgon) would then be included in what looks to be an epic adventure indeed!  The way you were able to switch viewpoints and voices made me completely forget what I imagined your voice would sound like (as a female author) and really feel invested in each character’s life story.  The twist near the end had me wanting to call on the phone and say ‘but I want to know what happens next now!’  Engrossing, entertaining and you have me hooked.  Really great job on your first fictional novel.  Who would read this and know it was done by a “sports journalist” unless they already knew you?  I would never have guessed if I didn’t.  Please hurry up and release the next book! – Bridget Bailey

To Bridget,

I can honestly say that I loved that the characters’ own voices came through to you.  Yes, most people who follow “my work” are more familiar with my articles about athletes, games, statistics, etc. The story is definitely not about American football. Lol.  The second book in the series is underway, so hopefully it won’t be too long until you get to see where the characters are headed next.  Thanks for being supportive of all of my writing and even my silly Twitter posts.

***

Brian King Interview (intro only)

Christina, first thank you for offering me an advanced copy of PrinceFall.  You’ve really helped me with my own ideas and it’s great to see the final product you got out there.  I am curious about something you did in the book that many writers shy away from, that being using both the third-person and first-person to tell the story thus far.  Was it difficult to shift between perspectives because the way you did it seemed really smooth.

(Christina): Brian, honestly the characters did what they wanted.  I felt that if Jett was to be the record keeper and story teller, it was important that he be read in the first person.  But how do you introduce readers to journal entries?  A journal is typically written from that person’s view only.  To introduce characters from two different “times” wasn’t easy, and I was a bit curious to see if some readers struggled with the transitions without getting confused.  How could I let the characters tell the story but make Jett the overall narrator?  I decided the best way was to alternate between the viewpoints and let them all converge in a way I hoped would surprise readers.

Brian:  I was surprised that you let readers see into the past before Jett even makes a real appearance so to speak.  When he does appear, I felt like I had become him.  I had read what he had been reading.  I admit, it made me relate to him strongly.  His questions turned into what I wanted answered.

Why did you choose the fantasy adventure genre?

(Christina):  I was introduced to genealogy, family history, early in my life by my maternal grandmother and my parents.  One thing I have always found fascinating about genealogy is not the names and dates, but the stories that tied people together generationally.  The problem is that those stories are often passed verbally and I thought, ‘what if I found an old journal of a relative and it gave me clues about who I am as a person?’. To me, that idea just resonated.  It was a more common practice in lines of royalty to have written records and so the fantasy genre seemed to be the right fit.

Leave a Reply

